The Descent

Posted: March 29, 2014 in Movies
Tags: , , , , , ,

The Descent is a 99 minute film that was released in 2005. It is about a group of friends that go on a caving expedition that goes horribly wrong, as the explorers become trapped and ultimately pursued by a strange breed of predators. I first watched it a few years ago, but I recently watched it for a second time on Netflix. Shauna Macdonald plays the lead woman Sarah.

Image

Positives: The film is very creepy. They are in a deep cave, so if you suffer from claustrophobia you may have trouble watching it. Fortunately for me, I’m not claustrophobic, but it is awfully creepy that they’re in a cave and that creatures start coming after them. Horror films need to be creepy in some way to be any good. The acting was alright, although I do not care for some of the accents. I did like that the main actors are all women (Yay for lots of female representation!), so there aren’t any male-female gender issues happening. There’s some gore which is always welcome.

Negatives: A few of the characters were annoying, although I think they were supposed to be that way. I didn’t like the character of Juno in particular. Honestly, I can’t think of any huge negative aspects off the top of my head.

Overall, the film was good, I just can’t think of a whole lot to say about it without ruining it for anyone who has not seen it. It is different than many other films, which is good and bad. I think I was hoping for something more in the film, which is why I am rating it a 7 out of 10. It is a good film, but I felt something was missing. I’m not sure what though. As long as you’re not claustrophobic, I would suggest seeing The Descent.

Please leave me a comment!

