Swimfan

Posted: February 3, 2014 in Movies
Tags: , , , , , ,

I just bought Swimfan on dvd. I’ve seen the film several times before, but I just watched it again, so since it is fresh in my mind I thought I should write a short review. It is a thriller, not a horror movie, but I think some readers of my blog may enjoy it. Swimfan stars Jesse Bradford, Erika Christensen and Shiri Appleby, and there may be a few other familiar faces to you. It was released in 2002, and is about Ben (Bradford), who is a star on his high school swim team and has a pretty girlfriend Amy (Appleby). He seems to have it all going for him, until he screws up. There’s a new girl at school, Madison (Christensen), and he almost hits her with his car one day. He gives her a ride home and realizes she left her notebook in his truck. When he returns it to her they hang out for the evening and end up having sex in the school’s swimming pool. Ben realizes he messed up and when he tries to explain to Madison it was a mistake and he has a girlfriend, she won’t leave him alone. She does everything possible to mess up his life, which leads to tragic results.

As I mentioned, Swimfan is a thriller, not a horror film, but it is interesting. The film is definitely creepy, and Erika Christensen is rather horrifying in her role. The other actors are alright, no complaints, and the storyline is pretty good. Ben is a rather stupid character, although I suppose that if he was smart the film wouldn’t have been interesting at all. I’m not sure what else to say about Swimfan, as it is a good, creepy film. I would rate it an 8 out of 10.

Please leave me a comment!

