Last night I went to see Evil Dead. After watching the 91 minute film, I thought it was good. Here’s a synopsis of the film: Five twenty-something friends get together to support their friend Mia, who is a drug addict trying to get clean. They meet up at Mia’s family’s remote cabin, and decide to stay there for a while to help Mia through withdrawal. Mia soon begins acting irrationally, and says she can’t live with the smell in the cabin. The group decides to go into the basement to find out where the smell is coming from only to discover dead animals and a Book of the Dead, which leads them to believe someone has broken into the cabin and has been participating in witchcraft. One of the friends decides to read the book, which unwittingly summons up dormant demons living in the nearby woods, which possess the friends in succession until only one is left intact to fight for survival. The movie stars Jane Levy, Shiloh Fernandez, Lou Taylor Lucci, Jessica Lucas, Elizabeth Blackmore, and even has a cameo by Bruce Campbell himself. Bruce Campbell (who stars as Ash in the original film) and Sam Raimi (who produced, directed and wrote the original film) helped produce the film.

There seems to be a disagreement among viewers as to whether the film is a remake or a reboot. There are many elements of the original in the film, as well as elements from Evil Dead II, but I don’t think that it is a remake. There are many new elements to the film, and though remakes are usually done with some changes, I didn’t get the feeling that it was supposed to be a true remake. I believe it is a reboot of the franchise, and I think it was done quite well.

For any fans of the original movie, this version of Evil Dead has some laughs, lots of suspense and surprises, many elements of the original and lots and lots of gore. There is actually so much blood in this film that they used 50,000 gallons of blood just for one scene alone. So in other words, if you are squeamish, don’t go see this film. If you watch it and find it’s too much for you, I already warned you! Luckily for me, gore really doesn’t faze me after seeing it so much over the years. It is very over the top in this movie, but I think it was used well and as far as the storyline goes, it does make sense to have so much blood. Also, there is no Ash character, so for those of us who believe that nobody would be able to do Ash better than Bruce Campbell, we don’t have to worry about that in this film.

As for anyone who has not seen the original film, I would suggest watching the original as well as the second before watching this. You can probably get away with not watching them, but I think you will appreciate Evil Dead more if you at least know what happened in the original. The original is a cult classic, and as far as I’m concerned it is one of the strangest horror films out there, but it is good. It’s just one of those movies that if you love horror and you haven’t seen it, you are definitely missing out.

I thought that all of the actors did well in their roles, and Jane Levy (who played Mia) must be a very good actress because she perfected the whole being possessed and going crazy character. One thing that tends to bother me with horror movies is when I can predict everything that is about to happen. In this film, there were a few moments that I knew what was about to happen, but there were quite a few surprises so I was happy about that.

Now, I must also point out a few things that I had an issue with in this film. First off, there is a dog who dies, and I do not ever like seeing animals die in movies. I personally see no reason for an animal to have to die in a film. I would much rather any animals live and see all the people die, because usually the people all have it coming to them. The second thing that I questioned was how the characters died with the extent of their injuries. I don’t want to spoil the film for anyone so I won’t go into detail, but at least one person died due to injuries that would not have killed them, so I thought that was a little dumb. There were a few other things that either I questioned or that bothered me a bit, but again, I can’t mention what without spoiling the film for everyone else. They were not big issues though, so don’t worry about it!

Overall, I think the film was good. The actors were good, the film was a good length, it wasn’t in 3D (which I’m very tired of seeing), it had lots of gore, the backstory was efficient, there was lots of suspense and there were several surprises. I have been going back and forth on what my rating is, and I have decided to rate Evil Dead a 8.5 out of 10. A good film with a few issues here and there, but nothing major. I would recommend the film to anyone who enjoyed the original, enjoys or does not mind a hell of a lot of gore, and enjoys lots of suspense. The movie will make you jump at least once, if not several times. Go check out Evil Dead.

Please leave me a comment!

