Recently Watched Films: BC, TP, TR

Posted: February 2, 2013 in Movies
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Recently I watched the films Black Christmas, The Possession and The Reef. I hadn’t watched the original Black Christmas in a while, and I found it on tv so I decided to sit down and watch it. Black Christmas is about a sorority house that is terrorized by a stranger who makes frightening phone calls. The caller then murders the sorority sisters during Christmas break. The film came out in 1974 and was redone in 2006 (the original is better than the remake). I would actually like to buy Black Christmas (1974 version) on dvd, because I think it is one of the classics! For tons of suspense and being one of the best horror movies of the decade, I would rate Black Christmas 9 out of 10.

I had wanted to watch The Possession in the theatres when it came out a few months ago, but I never had the chance to watch it. It stars Jeffery Dean Morgan and Kyra Sedgwick.  The Possession is about a young girl who buys an antique box at a yard sale, unaware that inside the collectible lives a malicious ancient spirit. The girl’s father teams with his ex-wife to find a way to end the curse that’s taken hold of their youngest daughter. I found the film a little bland in the beginning, but once it comes to an end I thought it was quite good. It has a lot of suspense, great actors, a superbly creepy child, and some surprises along the way. I would rate this film 8 out of 10.

On netflix I found a movie called The Reef. I had never heard of it before but it looked interesting so I watched it! The Reef is about a group of friends who go sailing along the Great Barrier Reef. Once their boat capsizes, they try to decide whether to stay with the boat or swim to the nearest island. The problem with swimming though, is that there are hungry sharks lurking in the water below. The film came out in 2010 and stars a bunch of unknown actors. The movie did have a lot of suspense, but I found all of the actors’ accents rather overwelming at times because they were hard to understand. It is rather predictable at times, which I did not enjoy, but overall it was not a bad film. It had sharks, suspense, terror and gore, and I would give it a 7 out of 10.

What have you watched lately?

Comments
  1. […] This quote is from The Possession. You can see my short review of the film here: https://horrorlovers.wordpress.com/2013/02/02/recently-watched-films-bc-p-tr/  […]

  2. […] This was said in the Possession by Tzadok. You can read my short review here: https://horrorlovers.wordpress.com/2013/02/02/recently-watched-films-bc-p-tr/  […]

Please leave me a comment!

